Keynote Speakers

UTS are pleased to present the following keynote speakers at this year's ACIS2018.

Prof H. Raghav Rao, UTSA

Raghav Rao

Dr. H.R. Rao was named the AT&T Distinguished Chair in Infrastructure Assurance and Security at The University of Texas at San Antonio College of Business in January 2016. He also holds a courtesy appointment as full professor in the UTSA Department of Computer Science. He graduated from Krannert Graduate School of Management at Purdue University. His interests are in the areas of management information systems, decision support systems, e-business, emergency response management systems and information assurance. He has chaired sessions at international conferences and presented numerous papers. He also has co-edited four books, including Information Assurance Security and Privacy Services and Information Assurance in Financial Services. He has authored or co-authored more than 200 technical papers, of which more than 125 are published in archival journals. He is current co-editor in chief of Information Systems Frontiers.

web logo


Prof Deo Prasad (OM), UNSW

Deo Prasad

Distinguished Professor (Scientia) Deo Prasad AO FTSE is now an international authority and recognised as a national leader in the field of sustainable buildings and cities and among the leading advocates for sustainability in Australia, with his contributions having been widely acknowledged at all levels of government and professions in Australia. Elected as a Fellow of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects in 1991, he has been a highly influential, driving force for sustainable design in both academia and professional practice and in 2006 he received the Royal Australian Institute of Architect’s National Education Award for contribution to ‘sustainability education, research, and design’. In 2004 he received the NSW State Government’s individual GreenGlobe Award for ‘leadership and commitment to the supply of renewable energy’ He has also won the Federal Government’s national award for ‘outstanding contribution to energy-related research’. He is a regular contributor to debate in this area in local and international media.

Deo has been an outstanding teacher and researcher during his 28 years at University of New South Wales, Sydney Faculty of the Built Environment. Deo has published in excess of 280 key publications on the subject (including six books, about 30 chapters in books, numerous key journal papers, and refereed conference papers – among the highest in the country in architecture) and is a regular keynote invited speaker at conferences globally, in this field.

web logo

Distinguished Prof  Athanasios V. Vasilakos, LTU

Athanasios Vasilakos

Distinguished Professor Athanasios (Thanos) Vasilakos is currently Professor at Lulea University of Technology, Sweden. His research focuses on IoT and smart cities, cloud computing, cybersecurity, and big data analytics. With more than 27000 citations, and H-index=90, Thanos’ papers have been among the top 1% most-cited publications for a 12-year period; consequently he was included in the Web of Science Highly Cited Researches list in 2017 and 2018.

Thanos is serving or served as an editor for many technical journals including IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management, IEEE Transactions on Cloud Computing, IEEE Transactions on Services Computing, IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security, IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics, IEEE Transactions on Nanobioscience, IEEE Transactions on Information Technology in Biomedicine, ACM Transactions on Autonomous and Adaptive Systems, and the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications. Thanos has served as General Chair of the European Alliance for Innovation, been a consultant in industry and is co-founder of two start-ups.

web logo